Schrader Bests Arizona IMCA Stock Car Foes


Ken Schrader won Friday night in IMCA Stock Car action at Central Arizona Speedway. (KSR photo)

CASA GRANDE, Ariz. – Even at age 68, Ken Schrader continues to prove that he can get the job done behind the wheel of a racecar.

Schrader, the former NASCAR Cup Series veteran who earned the 1982 USAC Silver Crown Series championship before going stock car racing, won a 20-lap IMCA stock car feature Friday night at Central Arizona Raceway.

A four-time Cup Series winner, Schrader led every lap of the main event and finished 1.260 seconds ahead of runner-up Jason Rogers. Jordan Zillmer originally crossed third but was disqualified post-race.

That handed the final podium spot to Bo Partain, with Josh Cain and Trent Grager closing the top five.

Most notable among Schrader’s career accomplishments are his three consecutive poles for NASCAR’s premier event, the Daytona 500, from 1988 to 1990 while driving for Hendrick Motorsports.

Schrader also boasts 18 ARCA Menards Series victories over his 42 years competing off and on in that tour, most recently at Salem (Ind.) Speedway in 2015.

However, he continues to race and win at local dirt tracks around the United States in various classes even presently.

Canadian and past World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Model Series rookie-of-the-year Ricky Weiss captured top honors in Friday’s 30-lap IMCA late model headliner, leading from start to finish after rolling off from the pole position.

Behind Weiss, Scott Ward, Dustin Strand, Tyler Peterson, and Collen Winebarger were second through fifth, respectively. Dirt late model legend Billy Moyer also competed, finishing 25th in the 26-car field.

Ricky Alvarado (IMCA modifieds), Blake Adams (IMCA limited mods), and Tyler Johnson (IMCA SportMods) were victorious in their respective features at the three-eighths-mile dirt oval.

The results:

IMCA Stock Cars (20 laps) 1. 3-Ken Schrader [2]; 2. 37-Jason Rogers [5]; 3. 75C-Bo Partain [16]; 4. 3J-Josh Cain [1]; 5. 71-Trent Grager [7]; 6. 16-Jason Storbakken [13]; 7. 02X-Larry Brigner [11]; 8. 15-Dennis Losing [15]; 9. 5M-Anthony Madrid [9]; 10. 69X-Marcos Bojorquez [10]; 11. 20-Brandon Schilling [18]; 12. 88-Kevin Roberts [3]; 13. 48-Brock Beeter [4]; 14. 21MF-Mitchell Ferguson [14]; 15. 980-Kaden Woodie [12]; 16. 90-Tommy Fain [8]; 17. 23SR-Chris McCurdy Sr. [17][DNS]; 18. 34-Jordan Zillmer [6][DQ].

IMCA Late Models (30 laps): 1. 7-Ricky Weiss [1]; 2. 37W-Scott Ward [9]; 3. 71-Dustin Strand [13]; 4. 1TPO-Tyler Peterson [10]; 5. 22S-Collen Winebarger [2]; 6. 73-Zach Johnson [18]; 7. 44*-Cole Schill [12]; 8. 5-Josh Zimpel [7]; 9. 13-Bricen James [20]; 10. 7A-Shane Sabraski [4]; 11. 11-Matt Aukland [6]; 12. 45-Dustin Bluhm [25]; 13. 5E-Shane Edginton [24]; 14. 37M-Rob Mayea [23]; 15. 00C-Brandon Corbett [14]; 16. 28-Jim Whisler [26]; 17. 78S-Steve Stultz [15]; 18. C4-Ryan Corbett [16]; 19. E85-Jason Strand [11]; 20. 10CO-Charlie Olsen [3]; 21. 22T-Karl Tipton [22]; 22. 81X-Matt Sparby [5]; 23. 01-Michael Leach [17]; 24. 38-Thomas Hunziker [19]; 25. 42S-Billy Moyer Sr. [21]; 26. 15-Clayton Stuckey [8].

The ultimate entertainment platform for race fans and collectors to collect, buy, sell, and trade digital MP4 collectible racing cards. RFD is designed to give all racers in all series a chance to promote their brand and connect with fans in the digital world


For Race Face Digital merchandise please visit our online store!

Don't forget to follow Race Face Digital on social media.

About Jacob Seelman

Jacob Seelman is Motorsports Hotspot’s News Editor and Race Face Digital’s Director of Content, as well as a veteran of more than a decade in the racing industry as a professional, though he’s spent his entire life in the garage and pit area.